Home » faith in real life » if this blog were pinterest…

if this blog were pinterest…

…here’s what would be on my Advent board.*

  • a beautiful and easy idea for a nightly family ritual of light to celebrate Advent with kids. Filed away in my memory for later years when candles do not pose an immediate and alluring fire hazard to the toddler set.
  • a moving film on “Change,” courtesy of the “Deacon’s Bench” blog, which promises you will never walk by the homeless man on the street without second-guessing your assumptions about where the change you give him might go.
  • an important reminder (and clever video) that while we are rushing around to finish our shopping, millions of people in this world need something much simpler for Christmas.

 

  • and finally, a ridiculous outtake of Stephen Colbert doing a liturgical dance to “The King of Glory.” Having watched this about 7 times, I can report that it keeps getting funnier.

* I am still not entirely sure I “get” Pinterest, despite being mildly obsessed with finding new kids’ crafts, home decorating ideas, and other projects I will surely never undertake. So for all of my Face.book friends who keep requesting to follow me, FYI – I have no idea what I’m doing.

But I do love me some Advent.

5 thoughts on “if this blog were pinterest…

  1. I can’t wait to check out some of your links! The video is great! I actually just wrote about why I’m not “pinterested.” But from lots of people’s reactions, I am missing out! I’m mostly worried about the time part!

Leave a Reply

